South Island Wargaming, New Zealand.

South Island Wargaming, New Zealand.

It is currently Sat Apr 21, 2018 7:23 am

All times are UTC + 12 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: out of range wound allocation
PostPosted: Tue Sep 03, 2013 7:31 pm 

I'm just learning 6th ed and have come across the out of range wound allocation FAQ. It has me perplexed; I understand how it works both pre and post FAQ, but it seems like a big departure from previous editions and simple logic.

Are people playing it as written, ie you can allocate wounds to any model that is in range of the longest range weapon, or are people rolling different range weapons seperately and not allowing models that are out of range of a specific model to be wounded? Seems some people on the net are ignoring the rules as written so i wanted to get a consensus from the local community.

I can see how it would be used to steamline things but it really doesnt make sense to me in regards to flame templates. Say you give a squad of 4 flamers a bolter, suddenly you can kill a lot more models than if you didnt have it. I would have thought you could only kill stuff that was under the flame templates.

Post subject: Re: out of range wound allocation
PostPosted: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:16 pm 

At my place, and when i play at Cavs we generally play as close to the letter of the law (RAW) as possible despite how dumb they are some times (like this time) It's just so much easier if you're going to be playing people you don't know to play as close to the rules/FAQs as possible.